Why trust us? We take expert advice, test, research and select products independently. If you buy through links on our website, we may earn an affiliate commission read more.

Girl, Wash Your Face Self-Help Book Review: Best for Personal Development

This is a self-help book by American author Rachel Hollis published by Thomas Nelson in 2018. Rachel Hollis is an American author, motivational speaker, and blogger.

Girl, Wash Your Face

Girl, Wash Your Face

  • Author: Rachel Hollis
  • ISBN-10: 9781400201655
  • Release date: February 6, 2018


The ‘Girl, Wash Your Face’ is motivational tips, Bible quotations, and common-sense girl talk. The book is a self-memoir of Hollis. She tries to inspire women to take their lives into their own hands and make their dreams happen, no matter how discouraged they may feel at the moment. Overall, this is a motivational and engaging self-help book.


  • Engaging narrative
  • Helpful for productivity, psychology, and mental health


  • Majorly directed towards adult women
Ease of use

The details

Do you ever suspect that everyone else has life figured out and you don’t have a clue? If so, Rachel Hollis has something to tell you: that’s a lie. If you have ever said any of these things to yourself. Something else will make me happy; I’m not a good mom; I will never get past this; I am defined by my weight; I should be further along by now, then those could benefit from the unflinching faith and rock-hard tenacity Rachel Hollis has in store for you. Founder of the lifestyle website TheChicSite.com and CEO of her own media company, Chic Media, Rachel Hollis has created an online fan base of hundreds of thousands of fans by sharing tips for living a better life while fearlessly revealing the messiness of her own. Now comes her highly anticipated first book featuring her signature combination of honesty, humor, and direct, no-nonsense advice. Each chapter of Girl, Wash Your Face begins with a specific lie Hollis once believed that left her feeling overwhelmed, unworthy, or ready to give up. From her temporary obsession with marrying Matt Damon to a daydream involving hypnotic iguanas to her son’s request that she buy a necklace to “be like the other moms,” Hollis holds nothing back. With unflinching faith and tenacity, Hollis spurs other women to live with passion and hustle and to awaken their slumbering goals.


The book is based on the life of Hollis, especially her struggle with life, and how she recovered from that struggle. For instance, Hollis’s struggle with bad beliefs about herself, and her workaholic habit, and how she dealt with this is narrated to provide advice to women in contemporary society on how they can overcome bad feelings they have about themselves. When she was young she felt good when, for example, she received applause from an audience after succeeding but immediately the applause ended she felt less motivated as she was before the applause, insinuating that in her mind she felt the external pressures to produce something to receive acceptance in return. In this book, Hollis tries to empower women to take control of their lives by understanding that what becomes of their lives is ultimately upon them. This is to means that they have the power to dictate some of the outcomes of their lives.


Rachel talks about real issues. More than that, she reveals the specific practical strategies that helped her move past them. In the process, she encourages and entertains all to convince you to do whatever it takes to get real and become the joyous, confident woman you were meant to be. Because you really can live with passion and hustle – and give yourself grace without giving up. Overall the book never fails to be engaging for readers.

Ease of use

The book is based on these ideas: build the habit of keeping your promises to yourself because breaking them pulls you down. Visualize your dreams and focus on them in detail to stay motivated to make them happen. Rather than fighting the river of chaotic home life, learn to embrace it. Overall, the book is easy to follow and a quick weekend read.


The book is divided into 20 chapters, and begins with an orientation of the readers on the life of the author, and what is to be expected from the chapters of the book. The book is based on one truth that ‘people have control over who they become’, and 20 lies, and misconceptions about one’s life. Every chapter, therefore, begins with one lie that the author once believed about her life, such as ‘I am not good enough, which she confronted with the truth, and how she reformed from the bad feeling she had through believing the lie. In the current context, the book addresses an audience of people who might not necessarily have gone through the same life as Hollis but who are struggling with beliefs about themselves, that hold them back from living a successful, fulfilling, and productive life. For instance, a woman who feels she is not a good mother today is encouraged to believe the truth that it is up to her to become the good mother she would want to be by taking steps such as joining groups where she can learn best practices from. The author categorically says that a mother doesn’t need to buy children’s love with food, and gifts simply because it is easier than parenting.

Final verdict

Never forget where you are, what you have Because that self-realization will motivate you to reach where you want to be. Always know your priorities. Never forget the people and the support which motivates you and makes you happy. This book can be helpful to most adult women, who feel overwhelmed and dissatisfied with their life, working women who feel down about a lifetime of regrets, and anyone who wants inspiration to chase their dreams.

Become a member

Sign up for our newsletter to get exlusive new content and giveaways.

By continuing, you accept the privacy policy.
No spam. Unsubscribe any time!